User and group permissions are very similar, but are listed just a little different from one another. In this tutorial you will learn about how to setup permissions for a group and how to setup individual user permissions. You will find that actually setting the permissions is the exact same process for both users and groups.
In the User Manager you will see a permission list like this (Fig. 1):
In this list you will see 3 columns:
- Permission: Shows the data module name.
- Value: You will see a “–Show–” link which when clicked will give you a group of checkboxes.
- From Group: This will list all the permissions that a user has pertaining to a data module, based on what groups they belong to.
In the Group Manager the permission list will look like this (Fig. 2):
The permissions list for the Group Manager looks basically the same as the one in the User Manger, but without the “From Group” column since this IS the group.
Group Module Permissions
To set permissions for a group start by clicking the “–Show–” link in the value column for the column you want to edit permissions on. When you do this you should see something similar to this (Fig. 3):
This group of checkboxes allows you to set a groups permissions for a specific action. If a checkbox is checked, that means the group (along with all the users that belong to the group) have permission to do that action.
Following is a list of all the checkboxes and what group permissions they provide:
- Read: If checked, the group will then have permissions to see, or “Read” records in this module (data set). Note: You can also click on Add Filter to create a filter for this permission if you want this group to only read a certain set of records.
- Edit: This option allows this group to edit records in this module (data set). Note: You can also click on Add Filter to create a filter for this permission if you want this group to only edit a certain set of records.
- Delete: If you give this group this permission then they will be able to delete any records that they can see (or “Read”) or edit.
- Mass Update: “Mass Update” permission will allow members of this group to make the same change to many different records all at the same time. If you want this group to also be able to “Mass Delete” records then you need to give them this permission as well as “Delete” permission.
- Mass Email: This permission will allow member of this group to send “Mass Email” similar to a mail-merge type action. This is helpful for modules (data sets) that contain contact information.
- Create: With this permission members of this group will be able to create new records in this module (data set).
- *Module (currently named Tab): If you want this module to be displayed in the list of modules in Ivinex for this group, you must give permission here. Without “Module” permissions this group won’t be able to see the module itself. They may still be able to add new records and see existing records where this module is linked to other modules that this user group have permission to see.
- Link: This permission will allow members of this group to link records from this module to records in other modules.
- Export: With this permission groups can export data from this module as a CSV file, which can be viewed in Microsoft Excel.
- Import: If you give this group “Import” permission then they will be able to import CSV data into this module.
- Multi-select Merge: This permission allows users in this group to select multiple records and merge them.
- Multi-select Delete: This permission allows users in this group to select multiple records and delete them.
- Multi-select Update: This permission allows users in this group to select multiple records and update them.
- View Change History: If you want users to be able to view the change history for a record, enable this permission.
Once you finish editing permissions for however many tabs you want to you can click the “Update permissions” button that is above the permissions list to save the changes you made.
User Module Permissions
By default users permissions are determined by the groups they belong to (seen in the “From Group” column), but if you want to give a specific user a different set of permissions then you can do so by clicking the “–Show–” link in the Value column (fig. 4).
The permissions checkboxes here are exactly the same as the Group Permissions so refer above for more information about what each permission is and does.
Once you’re done editing permissions for this user you can click the “Update permissions” button that is above the permissions list to save the changes you made.
Group & User Global Permissions
In addition to the data module permissions, there are a few “global” permissions that can be set for both groups and users.
The following is a list of all the checkboxes and what global permissions they provide:
- Email: The ability to use the email icon (for sending an email) while viewing a record. The email icon will appear toward the top right of the detail view.
- Admin: The ability to access the administration area for your Ivinex site with full add/edit/delete permissions.
- Undelete: Gives a user or user group the ability to see deleted records (if they have this set to “yes” in personal preferences).
- API: Gives a user or user group the ability to use the Ivinex API.
- 19 March, 2013 @ 19:53 [Current Revision] by Ivinex Customer Support
- 19 March, 2013 @ 19:53 [Autosave] by Ivinex Customer Support
- 19 March, 2013 @ 19:50 by Ivinex Customer Support
- 23 January, 2013 @ 13:58 by Ivinex Customer Support
- 15 March, 2012 @ 12:50 by Ivinex Customer Support
- 12 March, 2012 @ 14:36 by Ivinex Customer Support
- 7 March, 2012 @ 13:24 by Ivinex Customer Support
- 7 March, 2012 @ 13:00 by Ivinex Customer Support